One Moment!

For the optimal user experience please use Google Chrome, Firefox, or Microsoft Edge.

Thank you!

Our COVID-19 Response See Our Statement

BIM 360: File Renaming


For our second installment of Al’s Tips & Tricks for BIM 360, our expert shares a tip to save you from panicking if you think your changes are lost because files are renamed.

With this cloud-based program, BIM 360 can work with most Revit models, with the exception that the project files live in the cloud and not on your company server.  In this new (COVID) work environment, unique issues may arise and disrupt work. Recently, WB had a project where an external collaborator renamed the central file within Document Management. Normally, this would not be a problem in a standard Revit project but because the files were transferred through Design Collaboration in BIM 360, this caused an issue - essentially the files were on hold during updating.

When a file is renamed and then shared for consumption, this causes two files with the same GUID to be saved into the consumed folder. From there, Revit does not know which file to path to and by default will continue to link to the old file name and ignore any new updates.

The solution to fixing the problem is simple. Simply delete the old model from your team’s consumed folder then repath it to the new file name. But what about losing the old version? No need to worry, all the files that are posted on design collaboration also live in the shared folder. The easiest way to think of the shared folder is that it is a backup folder where all the models that have been previously shared can be found.

If you are interested in learning more about BIM 360 as a collaborative tool for your project or see how we’re using it, please reach out to Al Florez (aflorez@wbenginereing.com)!

Related Stories